Kilty B’s win Game Two of the Sutherland Cup Playoffs

The Hamilton Kilty B’s defeated the Leamington Flyers 5-4 in Game Two of the Sutherland Cup Round Robin on Sunday afternoon at the Nature Fresh Farms Recreation Centre.

The B’s got the party started early, with a goal by Tyler Hopkins just under two minutes into the game. Matthew Duarte carried the puck in deep up the left side before dishing to Hopkins in front who made no mistake and put Hamilton up 1-0.

Leamington would tie the game just a few minutes later on a Hamilton turnover behind their own net. Ryan MacPherson got a hold of the puck before giving it to Connor MacPherson to bury it.

The Kilty B’s took the lead back in the second frame on a powerplay goal by Matthew Duarte. Nathan Phillips put the puck on net and Duarte was there to squeeze it between the Flyers netminder and the right post.

The Flyers would tie it again with a minute left remaining in the second period. This time it was Trevor LaRue on the doorstep to clean up the rebound and tie it at two goals apiece.

Early in the third, Noah Vandenbrink danced into the offensive zone with the puck, fired a shot wide of the net that bounced back to Justin Monteith beside the goal. Monteith put the puck past an outstretched Flyers’ goalie to make it a 3-2 lead for his team.

Leamington would tie it once more and again on a mad scramble for the puck in front of Hamilton’s net. Cody Brekke was the culprit this time, scoring his second of the playoffs on the man advantage.

Nathan Omeri scored an impressive goal to push the B’s ahead again. Omeri held the puck for some time, skating circles around the Leamington zone before ripping home the go-ahead goal.

Dawson McKinney would later add an empty netter to seal the deal and give Hamilton their first win of the round robin. McKinney has now potted a team-leading ten playoff goals this year.

With this win, Hamilton holds a 1-1 record with two games to play.

The Kilty B’s play their next game in Stratford on Tuesday, April 18 at the William Allman Memorial Arena. Puck drop is at 7:30 p.m.

-Jarrett Matthews